Are you thinking about starting a new business, developing a new product, or creating a new process in an existing business?

One of the approaches to designing a great process upfront is to use the Design for Six Sigma Methodology (DFSS). Unlike the Six Sigma methodology which rigidly uses DMAIC phases (Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control), DFSS employs modifications on these phases. Regardless of the variation in the names, all process improvement professionals agree that designing a great process upfront minimizes the amount of rework later and ultimately saves money in the long run.

Common Phases for DFSS:

  • Define – Define the project goals using the customer’s critical to quality requirements.
  • Measure – Use market research and benchmarking to identify potential concepts and options by determining the customer’s needs.
  • Analyze – Analyze the options and select the concept to build in the next phase.
  • “Build” or “Design” – Design, build, test, and pilot the selected option for the new process or product to meet the customer’s needs.
  • “Verify” or “Deploy” – Deploy the new design, validate that it is performing as expected and proceed with commercialization.

DMAIC Phases:

  • Define the problem and customer requirements
  • Measure the defects
  • Analyze the data and determine the root cause of the defects
  • Improve the process and reduce the defect
  • Control the process to prevent defects from reoccurring

Branner Consulting, LLC can help you at any stage along your journey from process documentation to implementing process improvement projects. We also provide coaching and training in Six Sigma and Lean methodologies.

Contact us to get started!